Celebrating Young People Awards: Shortlist 2017

The shortlist for the Celebrating Young People Awards 2017 have been announced by Million Minutes. Now in its third year and with an ever expanding list of nominators, we have received nominations from schools, parishes and organisations across England and Wales. The awards honour the achievements of those young people who make our communities and  a better place. Their achievements are a witness to all of us of the dedication that young people have to make a difference.

Young people were nominated in six categories, each celebrating a different aspect of Catholic social teaching lived out in action. The nominations recount examples of ordinary young people with extraordinary commitment. We hear of young people taking the initiative to find new ways to serve those around them, alongside others who tirelessly and without complaint get on with the challenging situations they find themselves in - often resulting in the most inspiring examples of social action. There are young family carers, volunteers, campaigners and eco warriors, to name just a few. The judging panels had a difficult task, but they have now chosen their shortlists - see below - and the award recipients will be announced at a glittering ceremony in Leicester Square on 23 November 2017. (The CYMFed Youth Leader Award and the Pope Francis Award do not have a shortlist. The recipients will be announced at the ceremony).

St Josephine Bakhita Award: Celebrating human dignity

St Greg's Young Carer Ambassadors: St Gregory the Great School, Oxford
Caitolin Ali: Bellerive FCJ Catholic College, Liverpool
Alex Griffiths: Bishop Milner Catholic College, Dudley
Hannah Burton: Ursuline High School, Wimbledon
Ethan Suppaya: St Bonaventure's Catholic School, Forest Gate
Daisy Douglas: Loreto Grammar School, Altrincham

Cardinal Hume Award: Living out the option for the poor

Julie-Anne Ntege: Catholic Chaplaincy, Southampton
Wiliam Kent: Newman House, London
Chaplaincy Team: The Douay Martyrs Catholic School, Ickenham
Jacinta Villabolos-Finigan: Priory School, Birmingham
Aaron Omotosho: Loretto College, Manchester
St Edwards Youth Catholic Council: St Edward's and St Luke's Parish, Keymer

Barbara Ward Award: Caring for the environment

Joab Pelling: St Joseph's Catholic High School, Newport
Charlotte Bray: Newman University, Birmingham
Matthew Gowens: Cardinal Allen Catholic High School, Fleetwood
CAFOD Climate Champions: CAFOD
Eco Committee 2016/17: St Gregory's Catholic Science College, Harrow
The One World Group: St Wilfrid's Catholic School, Crawley

Joseph Cardijn Award: Protecting the dignity of workers

Billingham YCW Group: St Thomas of Canterbury Parish, Billingham
Alexandra Grant: St Mary's Catholic High School, Croydon
Jonathan Wright: Thornleigh Salesian College
Artur Sobota: St Paul the Apostle Parish, London
St. Anthony's YCW Impact Group: St. Anthony's RC Girls' Academy, Sunderland
St Vincent’s Young Adult Group: St Joseph's and St Vincent's Parishes, Nechells

Dorothy Day Award: Fostering community and participation

Dylan Went: Finchley Catholic High School
Chris Hill: Ratcliffe College, Leicester
Courteney Manning: Cardinal Allen Catholic High School, Fleetwood
James Teague: St Joseph's Parish, Wealdstone and HCPT group 144
Niamh Ross: St Thomas More Catholic High School, Crewe
St Gregory's Harrow, Sixth Form: St Gregory's Catholic Science College, Harrow
Kelsea Curran: Bellerive FCJ Catholic College, Liverpool

Jimmy Mizen Award: Promoting solidarity and peace

Just.Is: St Mary's Catholic School, Newcastle upon Tyne
Yeshi Berhanu: St Angela's Ursuline School, London
Victoria Roddis: Loreto Grammar School, Altrincham
Joshua Vicente: Courtyard Project, Wood Green
Anna Chapman: St Anselm’s Catholic School, Canterbury
Ella Holliday: St Bede's Catholic High School, Lytham